Lessons Learned on the Homeschool Journey

When you watch your child or your student receive an award or a diploma, have you ever thought you should be the one up there getting the applause? I have! Although infinitely rewarding, teaching and parenting are hard… really hard.

I have learned so much along the way about parenting and homeschooling. Sometimes, I think I should have more children because I feel like I’m just getting the hang of it. I know there’s so much more to learn, but … I assure my husband the feeling will go away. But! I DO hope I will always be able to teach.

Recently, I spoke at Books & Beyond which is a local conference on parenting, teaching, and homeschooling. Over the next few posts, I’ll share some of my thoughts with you. I hope they will be of encouragement to you.

Lesson #1 Don’t give up! I like this quote from M. Angela Moore. “Our family homeschooled through high school. No, that is not exactly true. I homeschooled through high school – my son, Derrick, was dragged along for the ride.” At times, we may feel like we are dragging our children along for the ride. It is not easy. Sometimes your hard work goes unrecognized or unrewarded but if this is what God has called you to do, then don’t give up.

On the days you think you just can’t last one more day, take time to renew your energy. Take a break! God gave us a Sabbath day for a reason. Mark 2:27 says: Jesus finished by saying, “People were not made for the good of the Sabbath. The Sabbath was made for the good of people.”

Stay tuned for future “lessons learned on the homeschool journey.”

Be blessed,

Bethany

 

This entry was posted in Homeschooling and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

