Celebrate Fall

Pic 1

 

I traveled to central NY this last week to visit my father and some other family members. It was a beautiful week – central NY at its finest with blue skies, changing leaves, and cool weather.

Pic 4

 

 

 

I found myself reminiscing about all the things we had done with our kids when they were young: hayrides, carving pumpkins, fall festivals, Halloween costumes, playing in the leaves, etc.

 

Pic 3

 


Here’s my sister Lauren demonstrating some of that fun! The thing on the end of her nose is commonly referred to as a “helicopter seed” from a maple tree. If you split open the seed end, there is enough sticky material to attach it to your nose!

 

 

Pic 5

 

 

Then, there is the smells and tastes of fall: pumpkin, apple, cinnamon, nutmeg, and so on. Who can resist a tall glass of cold cider (or a cup of coffee on those cooler days!) and a fresh doughnut? Yum!

 

 


What do you do to celebrate fall? How do you incorporate the sights, smells, tastes, and sounds of fall into your curriculum? Do you have a favorite craft, activity, or field trip? I would love to have you share it below. Check in later this week or sign up for my email update list and I will be adding some fall ideas to TeachingNook.com.

Now, get off your computer and go step outside, even if it’s just for a moment. This is the day the Lord has made. Celebrate it!

 

 

This entry was posted in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Celebrate Fall

  1. Sara R says:

    My girls and I love to visit farms this time of year. We look for corn mazes, fall festivals, and just try to have fun. I recently found a recipe for baked pumpkin doughnuts. I think we will try our hands at baking those.

    Like

Leave a Reply

