Pre-Advent Advent

I think I’ve been experiencing a “pre-advent Advent” over the last month. I’m almost as excited about tomorrow as I usually get about Christmas! Despite that, we keep decorating for Christmas very simple. “Fully decorated” means the tree is up and decorated and I’ve moved the piles of papers and knick-knacks enough to make space for my three nativity sets and an advent wreath! Our house is fairly small and space is at a premium, so this year I cleared some bookshelves for the nativities and a few special decorations.

As you prepare your homes and your hearts for Advent and for Christmas, choose the traditions that mean the most to you and your family. For some, that means your home could win a Martha Stewart decorating contest. For others, you’re just happy to get the kids’ Christmas art projects displayed on the refrigerator. Whatever your traditions, I hope this year you will include a weekly Advent moment with your family to celebrate the coming of Christ’s birth.

For the next four Sundays, I will post summaries of each week’s Advent devotional. This information, along with a full devotional, weekly family themes, song lyrics, and recipes can be found in the Devotional and Planner here. Your Advent moment can take place any day of the week, but I would encourage you to do it the same day each week, if possible. If not, be sure to write it in on a calendar that is easily visible for the whole family. A 2015 Advent calendar can also be found at the link above.

Please feel free to post questions, comments, and/or what your family is doing for Advent in the comments below. I would love to hear from you!

Bethany

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

